Picture
January always feels like the perfect time for a spring clean. And perhaps it is - you still have time thanks to the holidays and you also have the resolution for it - "This year will be better/cleaner/happier/more organised". So we moved the rooms round, the dining room gained a snug area with sofa and bookcase, the living room took in the array of instruments we have, leaving the well lit (but small) music room for me to move my craft into. The craft room? Its now a laundry/office/spare room - clearing all our clutter away for now :) 

The upshot of all this is I ended up dismantling the top part of our office desk - complete with redundant CD rack. When I carefully placed (read: threw) these into the utility room they landed next to my disgusting shoe "seed store" - and a quick eyeball told me that they would fit inside perfectly. Goodbye old icky seed tray I don't want to look inside, hello garden inspiration...

Picture
Yeah, that's right - ready brek dividers - based on what the seed was not when to plant it.
Picture
The mould I found after taking out the seeds and dividers
My first instinct was to chuck the shoebox entirely - it went mouldy! But, it was the only thing in the house into which the cd racks fit exactly, so I worked around this by fitting in a plastic lining made out of old shopping bags. I'll explain more about this another time, for now - a quick google should find you a tutorial. 
Picture
The no stitch plastic liner
Picture
All stitched in
I stitched in the cd racks and plastic liner using thread I had bought for the garden notice board, and used my trusty (read: terrible) hot glue gun to finish off the seal round the edges of the liner.. I then used stashed card in bright colours to cut out dividers, and popped these into the cd rack - I left more space for busy planting months, like March, April and September. Cut the edges down so that the dividers are easily seen, cover with pretty paper and the left over card and you have and you're done :)
Picture
Cutting a curve into the months means they can be seen behind each other in the tray
Picture
Finished seed sorter tray
Or are you? What if you also saw some chicken wire the exact perfect size for a soil sieve? Wouldn't you make a multi-purpose lid?? I did! I measured out the  chicken wire, cut out a slightly smaller rectangle (or I could have used triangles, circles - who knows) from the lid, and stitched in the wire. A project created entirely from stashed craft supplies - Do you like?
Stephanie
1/15/2013 11:30:07 pm

Love it :) great idea

Reply



Leave a Reply.