Before I moved on to decoupaging my drawers, I decided to start with something simple, like this picture frame I had ruined with marker, and turn it into a textured frame for an experiment I'd had with paper moulding last year. I'm really happy with the end effect, a simple frame perfect for a textured painting or something with bold colours... or both! 
Picture
The frame before I began
Picture
Finished frame with my "paper painting" inside
If you want to have a go yourself you're going to need: An old frame, white primer paint, tissue paper in your chosen colour(s), a paintbrush, PVA or other decoupage glue, a paint tray, and water to clean your brush with.  Make sure the frame is super clean and then paint with at least 3 layers of primer, leave to dry. 
Picture
Supplies you'll need
Picture
Paint the frame with thin coats of primer to ensure you get a lovely even coat
While your waiting for the paint to dry, select your tissue paper, tear (don't cut) into strips. Then, if you're like me, change your mind completely, change colour scheme, and tear up new tissue. I decided to go for all white and very textured to compliment the picture to go inside.  The tissue I used was from a local non-profit organisation, http://www.cornwallscrapstore.co.uk/
Picture
After changing my mind on the colour scheme, this torn up paper will form the foundation of my decoration on the drawers
Crumple the tissue paper and stick onto the frame using the glue underneath only. With most decoupage you're encouraged to glue over the top also, but I want a matt finish, so no top coat for me. I also scrunched some of the tissue after it was stuck on to encourage a textured finish. Once the tissue is completely dry you can go for a second layer wherever you think you need a bit more. Eventually you'll have the finished effect and can cut off the excess from round the edges.
Picture
Stick on the tissue, you can use a dry brush to push the paper if you don't want to get your hands gluey
Picture
Find all the little flaps of spare tissue and cut the off, or tear very carefully!
Picture
And you're done! Pop in the picture, I've left mine free of glass, so that the textures can be seen from every angle.



Leave a Reply.